I ran the benchmark four times using a collection count of 100, 500, 2000, and 5000. ... You should favor .map() and .reduce(), if you prefer the functional paradigm of programming. We're migrating our code base to Java 8. For other paradigms (and even in some rare cases within the functional paradigm), .forEach() is the proper choice. We'll replace everything by functions. There are plenty of articles that will try to convince you that you should use the map, filter and reduce methods. Let's go! ... filter, and find against for loop, forEach loop and lodash methods. Remove object orientation. – canon Mar 26 '17 at 17:23 1 being a developer I hardly use for or foreach, most of the work is done by map, filter or reduce methods. setup = function Wait a minute Java 8 has been out for over a year now, and the thrill has gone back to day-to-day business. It turns out, the good old for loop (and also while) provides the best performance by far — 10x better! The notion of a Java stream is inspired by functional programming languages, where the corresponding abstraction is typically called a sequence, which also has filter-map-reduce operations. Array reduce vs forEach JavaScript performance comparison. Using a forEach loop, this can be avoided. Again, this is down to the discretion of the developer, but here’s why I feel that the forEach method is a little cleaner than the for loop. Less of them mention forEach, and not many of them mention the more traditional for loops as serious alternative.Or when to use map over reduce or especially forEach.. A non-representative study executed by baeldung.com from May 2015… Throw out design patterns. Awesome! and it looks like the foreach is faster in some instances. Reduce vs for loop vs foreach // calculated the sum of upVotes const posts = [ {id: 1, upVotes: 2} ... Javascript performance test — for vs for each vs (map, reduce, filter, find). My go-to forEach wasn’t much better. Included in this test is the comparison between .NET